BomeBox & Cubasis - anyone tried to control start/stop?

I’m getting increasingly frustrated with AuriaPro on my iPad. It’s not very stable.

I see lots of good words about Cubasis 3. I’m considering taking the plunge. Given my level of experience with a DAW (very limited) changing over isn’t a big deal.

I’ve succeeded in controlling start/stop using MMC in Auria.

Has anyone succeeded in controlling transport in Cubasis?

Thanks,
Dov

Hi,

I have no experience with either AuriaPro or Cubasis. Is the unstability with AuriaPro or perhaps getting MIDI working between your devices through BomeBox. If the latter, I might be able to help if there is a demo copy I can download to my iPad.

Steve

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your usual lightning-fast response!

It’s Auria which is unstable. The problems I see are reported by many others. It seems that Corey Rim, the author of the app, may have lost interest in updating it.

The reviews I read say that Cubasis isn’t yet in feature-parity with Auria Pro, but is more stable and has a better UI.

Example about features: MMC support. I have been able to control start/stop and other features in AuriaPro. I’m hesitant to switch because I understand that this MMC functionality doesn’t exist in Cubasis.

That said, I’m starting to focus on recording myself and find Auria (an app I chose to buy a few years ago) unreliable and difficult to understand.

Thanks,
Dov

There are MIDI start,stop and continue commands that do not use MMC. You might want to try those to see if Cubasis supports those commands. Before buying Cubasis, I think there is an option to download a free trial.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

I found out this morning that Steinberg has added MMC and HUI to version 3.3 of the product.