External Clock

Quick Explanation: So, I’m pretty new to Bome’s and im using it to assign buttons on my Korg Kronos (a synth). Buttons that would generally be used for other things like navigating menus, starting/stopping the on-board sequencer, etc. I also realized that my Kronos can sync to my DAW (cakewalk) with an external clock, which I have achieved SOMEWHAT without Bome’s. When I click play on the DAW, my Kronos immediately is in sync with the programs clock. But whenever I use the Kronos’ sequencer buttons which I’m so used to, it obviously does nothing since there is no real assignable CC’s without Bomes. I realized that if I could get the start/stop button to actually start and stop my daw, that would sync up my DAW and synth indefinitely.

Question: But there’s one problem, I have no idea how to send the clock through Bomes back into my Kronos. Bomes in my DAW is selected to receive the clock, so that’s fine and dandy, but how to I get that clock to run back through my Kronos using Bomes?

Hi Jacob, and welcome!

So if I understand correctly, you want 1) to use the Korg Kronos to send a MIDI message to Cakewalk that will tell Cakewalk to in turn send a start sequence along with MIDI Clock. 2) Then you want Kronos to receive that start sequence and MIDI Clock back through MIDI Translator Pro.

For the first part, I think you would need to check the Kronos manual to determine which button you want to push to start the sequence (even if it not one of the sequencer buttons). I’m sure they have some buttons set up so that it can send a MIDI CC but would need to refer to the manual to determine which button. Cakewalk when then use that Message (through MIDI learn or if there is already a set CC it is looking for) to start sending the start sequence and MIDI clock (like you do today from within Cakewalk.