Feature Request: Incoming - Port xx Activity > Outgoing xx

Not sure if it can be done as I have zero knowledge of how BMTP works. But it would be really swell if we could use port activity to activate/deactivate Presets.
Use Case:
I activate a Preset with a key stroke or my Launch Pad. Now, when I press any note on my Roland piano, BMTP activates/deactivates Presets.
Or
I press any pad on any number of MIDI devices, BMTP activates/deactivates Presets.

By the way, I really appreciate the ‘App focus’ feature in the lates update. GOLD!

Hi, the following should do what you want.

We look for either 1 byte, 2 byte or 3 byte messages coming from the target controller. When we see any of these messages types we set a one shot timer called “MIDI Active”.
The outgoing action for the “MIDI Active” timer is to send a note-on back to the controller to light the LED.
When we set MIDI active, we also set a delayed (Watchdog) timer with a delay of 100 ms. If there is no activity within that time, we send a note-off message.

The only thing it will not work on is SysEx messages unless you include translators with the specific SysEx patterns that match.

MIDI-Active-2021-09-22.bmtp (1.6 KB)

In my case I’m just turning a note-on or note-off but you could set different outgoing actions to do anything that Bome MIDI Translator supports.

Thanks for the good words on Bome MIDI Translator Pro. Yes I found 1.9 to have quite a few useful new features.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Thanks for that Steven!. Works perfectly! Now my Roland Piano can activate/deactivate Presets when I press any of the 87 keys.

Except, now when I have the Preset with these Translators active, Cubase is not receiving note information from the Roland. And the globals you set seem to be conflicting with my project i.e none of the LEDs on my Launch Pads are working.

Thanks again.

1 Like

Never seen an 87 key keyboard.

Roland FP 10