Activating an LED from a Yellowtec boom arm using a Rodecaster Pro 1st Gen

Hey guys,

I am completely new to both the forum and the MIDI world.

I am looking to activate an LED on my microphone boom arm when I open the mic fader on my rodecaster pro.

I have reached out to RODE customer service and they have advised this would be possible by using BOME MIDI Translator.

Any ideas? :slight_smile:

Yes it is possible because the Rodecaster faders send MIDI. Bome MIDI Translator is a bit of an overkill for this single function, but I’m sure Steve will explain.

The crux is the hardware. Something has to switch on the LED when MIDI is received. You need some kind of interface for it. You can do this discretely with electronic components or with a microprocessor like Arduino, Teensy etc. Maybe you can find something ready-made for little money online.

Well, in looking at the product, it looks like 3 wires come down from the Mic XLR connectors. These should go into the Rodecaster interface XLR. I suspect that the other 2 wires are from the Boom LED and we would need to know what the voltage and current requirements are to drive the LED. I suspect with the current in one direction it drives the red LED and in the other direction drives the white LED and when no current, of course the LED is off.

Yellowtec has an interface box that takes MIDI (or USB MIDI) in and I suspect uses the 5 pin connector to route up the arm of the boom. 3 of the pins for the Mic and 2 for the LED.

We would somehow need to design an interface that does similar. It could probably be done with a Arduino along with a relay hat. The relay would need a voltage source to drive the current if the Arduino doesn’t put out enough.

We could then program the Arduino to take a given MIDI command to convert that to drive the relay, hence the LED light color. I suspect the effort to design this solution would likely be more than the cost of the interface that Yellowtec sells.