APC40 absolute to relative

Hi everybody, I’ve got an Akai APC40 mk1 and I want to use the track control encoders to send out relative values. That way I could use STC (selected track control) to control parameters of any track I select in Ableton.

I’ve found the Bome script below in older threads about absolute/relative cc’s and tried it. It kind of works, but it basically swallows values 2-126 and when you use the knob you can feel the gab/delay that makes. I’m not a programmer (at all), but I was thinking, would it be possible for Bome (BMTpro) to remember the last previous value? That way the current vlaue and the previous value could be compared. A left turn (for example value 71 to 70 would be decrease output and a right turn (for example value 22 to 23) would be an increase. Something like this (sorry for the noob terms used):
midi input value is pp
previous value is pv (action to remember previouw value?)
rules:
if pp>pv, output = value 127 (increment / +)
if pp<pv, output value 1 (decrement / -)
if pp = 127, output = 127 (increment / +)
if pp = 1, output = 1 (decrement / -)

Will something like this be possible? If so, how would you go about it?

Thanks,

Leon

This is the script used in older topics about absolute to relative cc:

Translator 0: turn left
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI B0 30 pp
Rules:
gd=pp-ga
ga=pp
if gd>=0 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
Outgoing Message: B0 30 3F

Translator 1: turn right
Options: stop=false
Incoming: MIDI B0 0E pp
Rules:
if gd<=0 then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
Outgoing Message: B0 40 41

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

Did you look at this tutorial?

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz
1 Like

Hi Steve,