Convert nrpn to cc and 14 bit CC

Hi all,
I’m new to bome… I have a Korg ES-1 which sends NRPN messages from its rotary knobs. I’d like to be able to translate these so I get a separate CC message number + value for each knob, so they can then be assigned in DAWs and VSTs that have a CC “learn” function.

Can anyone walk me through how this might be done in bome?

Thanks in advance, :slight_smile:

Hi,

The following example shows two ways of doing this

The first translator has fields for the target MSB and LSB of the NRPN and triggers on NRPN message converting output to CC10.

The second translator uses a raw MIDI method. Here in the rules I determine the target NRPN number and convert it to MSB and LSB values. We then compare these values to the incoming MIDI message to determine if it is our target NRPN number and if not, we send nothing.

Here are the rules:

// target nrpn number

rr=140

// convert from nrpn number to msb lsb
// msb
uu=rr>>7
if oo!=uu then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action
// lsb
vv=rr&127
if pp!=vv then exit rules, skip Outgoing Action

And here is the project file.
NRPN-to-CC.bmtp (1.5 KB)

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Thanks Steve, that’s fantastic… certainly looks like it should work.

My only problem is, being a total newbie, I can’t seem to get any of the Bome virtual MIDI outputs to work, I turn them on in the bome program, then select them as input in the DAW (ableton in this case) but still nothing comes through.

Don;t know what I’m doing wrong!

In the MIDI Settings of Ableton Live, uncheck the initial port names of your control surface and instead check BMT 1 both in and out,

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care