Filter Notes To Separate Channels (Translator Pro)

I’m trying to make a rule where the an incoming note from one port filters only that one specific note to a channel on another port (and expand that to other specific notes)

E.g., on Virtual Port 1, C1 outputs C1 and only C1 on Port 2 Ch1 only, C#1 outputs C#1 and only C#1 on Port 2 Ch2 only

I’m very new to the rules part of BMT so I’m not really even sure how to accomplish this. I’ve looked in the manual but… having trouble wrapping my head around it

One of the parts I don’t get is that in the “note to…” examples I see here in the forum it seems like you have to specify a velocity but I want the played velocity to pass through

To filter different notes to different channel, just change the outgoing channel in the translator.

To send to different ports, you have to define the target port as part of the outgoing message in the translator, preset or project. Translator routing overrides preset and project routing, preset routing overrides project routing. This is a good tutorial for dynamic port routing. In summary, I try to group my presets by routing I want instead of using translator level routing for ease of maintenance. It is much easier to change a few dozen preset routings then hundreds or thousands of translator routings.

Note, that Bome MIDI Translator Virtual MIDI Ports cannot be routed back to themselves in MT Pro. One end of the port needs to be MT Pro and the other end must be an external device or application.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

I see, very helpful I’ll give that a shot.

And what about the issue where it seems to require an output velocity? I want to pass the played velocity, I’m just trying to route drum parts from a pad or keyboard to individual channels

If you use the local variable qq as both input and output velocity, and don’t modify it in rules, it should work just fine.

great that worked!

Thank you Steve!