Generating Dynamic Tap Tempo from Drum Trigger

Hi there. I’m new to Bome and MIDI Translator Pro and have a funny use case that I’m trying to solve.

I would like to achieve a fluid, dynamically shifting tempo that is perpetually generated on the fly by a kick drum trigger. I’m an improv/noise musician, so I’m quite happy to have odd tempo slippage effects that sound a little chaotic.

I’m conceptualising the solution as derived from the interval between the most recent and penultimate notes. I did some digging, and found the translators and script from this page which seem to use that principle, which I’m currently trying to adapt without success:

https://www.bome.com/forums/3/10698/tap-tempo-button-for-guitar-fx-korgax3000g/

Where my use case differs from the above is that I have a kick drum pedal connected to an eDrumin, passed via Channel 1 to the Bomebox, which is passed to a Blokas Midihub, then on to a Nord Drum 3p. I think the issue is that the Midihub has very limited-to-no sys ex functionality, so the linked solution isn’t working when I select the sync option on the Midihub Delay pipe. According to the forums, the Midihub should accept clock from other devices though.

I’m guessing that my situation may be simpler than the link above - I imagine that I probably don’t need the sys ex stuff at all. But this is one of the first things I’ve tried, so I’m not sure how to adapt it to my purposes.

I’d really appreciate some help when any of you get a minute!

Seth

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

So as I understand, you want the kick drum interval to control the current tempo. You want Bome MIDI Translator to send a CC to the Midihub to tell it what tempo to use to adjust the clock of the MIDIhub.
Is this correct? Or is there a SysEx message that you want to send to the Nord Drum to tell it to change tempo?

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz