Getting started with bome(box) and dLive

Let me start by saying that I am completely new to midi anything beyond a midi keyboard that is premapped to a DAW. I am trying to figure out if bome might be a solution for me (and I have the idea that it will be). Simply put, I want to get a Icon Platform M+ (probably) and make it behave like an Allen&Heath IP8. The IP8 has 8 faders with 2 buttons per fader, 6 buttons to the side and 2 above that and you can assign functions to everything in the dlive. For example the top button at the fader will be the mute button, the bottom the PFL button, and assign channels to each fader. The 6 buttons on the side can be SoF or banks for example. Very simply put, I want to recreate that. The M+ has 9 faders, and I’d like to be able to assign the first 8 to a certain channel and the last to be the master fader. Different bank selection would be very cool but isn’t that needed. I’d guess the IP8 is nothing more than a midi controller so I would think I should be able to get that data, then record the data from the M+ and tie those together, right? So in theory I should be able to program the M+ like I would the IP8, assigning channels to each fader in the dlive.

I am probably oversimplifying things so really what I’m asking is a reality check. Is it possible, and am I going to be able to pull it off with the extremely limited knowledge I have? Perhaps someone can recommend literature (preferably videos, I’m not much of a reader) to get my knowledge to the level it needs to be?

I’d like to get a proof of concept with bome midi translator pro and an old bcf2000 I have laying around, and if it works I can get permission to spend the money on the bomebox and the Platform M+ to make a permanent setup.

Cheers,
Chris