Just willing to check if it’s possible (Metronome Application Keystrokes)

Hi,
In my case I am looking for quick, easy and cheap solution. As a hobby musician I need access to metronome using midi pedal switcher. The problem is, no metronome supports midi - it’s only keyboard shortcuts if any. My favourite metronome app can handle keyboard shortcuts (non changeable and very basic) - I am after solution to press midi key to trigger keyboard shortcut in specific app, often running in background. As only app to receive this shortcut.

Couple options came to my mind:

1. software can handle what I need
  2. Press and hold one of the switches to focus app to foreground and while holding make changes to tempo with other switches until holder button release and move that app to background.
  3. Maybe button stop/start could be multi action- like: upon press focus app and trigger shortcut and I focus app
  4. Button A on press to trigger shortcut A on hold trigger shortcut C
    Button B on press to trigger shortcut B on hold to trigger shortcut D

Ps I have downloaded trial version and manage to set focus metronome app on press, and alt+tab on second press.

Not expecting anyone to write entire thing for me. All I need to know if actions desired are can be archived in this software. If yes then I am paying for it and committing to setup.

I do hope you show your understanding of this unusual post.
Thank you

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

You can focus an app on a trigger. There is no outgoing action to ‘unfocus’ an app, however you can focus a different app on release.

This can be done with 2 translators both with the same incoming trigger

1. Focus App
  2. Send keystroke after a pre-determine delay (to give time for the app to focus)