Knob to keystroke translation in rules

Hello!
I am having some problems trying to find the correct syntax for a rule that I need to create for my project. I apologise in advance as I am not experienced at all in Bome, so the question might appear a bit dumb for this community.
I need to connect a knob (to be more exactly, a slide potentiometer) to a keystroke, so that I get the following effect:
If potentiometerValue is between 0 (min. value) and 0.5, then keystroke Z is held down (press without release), and if potentiometerValue is between 0.5 and 1 (max. value), then keystroke X is held down.

Does anyone have any clue how I can write this in the rules providing the proper syntax? I keep getting error messages and I am not sure how to fix them since I don’t quite understand how to use the Bome language, even after checking the manual and the YouTube tutorials.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

-Ana

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

The following project should be what you want, however I assume that if you are pressing Z you want to release X and visa versa.

Also I created a ‘dead zone’ in the middle where you don’t want to press either key.

First of all MIDI knobs have a value between 0 and 127

• If the value of the incoming MIDI message is between 0 and 60 then we press and hold Z and release X.
  • If the value is between 61 and 69 we release both keys. (Dead Zone)
  • If the value is between 70 and 127 we we press and hold X and release Z

The rules of first translator (0.0) handles most of the logic calling various ‘Perform’ actions that handle the keystrokes.

• Translator 0.1 Performs Keystroke Z Down (if not done already) and also ensures that X is not down by calling translator 0.4.
  • Likewise Translator 0.2 Performs Keystroke X Down (if not done already) and also ensures Z is not down by calling Translator 0.3
  • When we are in the middle area, we ensure both KeyStroke X and Z up are sent.