Midi Latency via ASIO vs USB Direct

I am new to BMT but have used Cantabile for years. We (me on Sylphyo WindSynth, Peter on Keyboard) tried synching our two loopers (RC-505s) using MIDI Synch a while ago and had a dismal failure.

When routed directly (i.e. DIN cables), the loopers synched nicely. However …

When routed through a laptop and into and out of Cantabile (a DAW designed for live performance), we got MIDI Sync jitter. Bad enough to cause the slave looper to detect a varying tempo in the range of, for example, 116 to 124 BPM (with the source looper at 120 BPM). We figured out that the culprit was that the MIDI notes get tacked onto the ASIO buffer. Even with a low 48 sample buffer size, MIDI Synch messages were arriving at arbitrary points in the assembly of an audio sample buffer, and the jitter on the receiving side cause the tempo to vary.

(The reason we were going through the Laptop and Cantabile was so that we could switch which looper was the master and which was the slave).

So … the question I have is … How does BMT handle MIDI? … through an ASIO (or similar) buffer, or some more direct route?

I am wondering whether to revisit our dual-looper setup using BMT rather than Cantabile …

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

Well ASIO has nothing to do with MIDI so the culprit may be jitter caused by Cantabile itself. It could also be caused by network jitter, especially if you are using WiFi.

Since Bome Product do nothing with Audio (IE ASIO) signals, there would be nothing ASIO related that would introduce jitter.

My recommendation would be to check with Brad at Cantabile about possible issues with MIDI jitter introduced there. If they can’t solve it, you could always run your MIDI through Bome MIDI Translator Pro (if on computer).

I use Cantabile light but just to handle few audio plugins for audio processing only. No MIDI.