Midi Polyphony / Chord Splitter

Edit: Now solved, please don’t worry! Just a few silly mistakes!

Hi all

I’m a newbie here. I need a little bit of help finishing my first preset (see attachment). Its very simple, just two translators, Note On and Note Off.

I am trying to split the midi polyphony from one channel, and separate it as individual monophonic notes on separate channels on the midi output. Up to 8 notes of polyphony. I’m not trying to do anything fancy regarding note stealing. In an ideal world the lowest note would be outputted on channel 1 and ascending channels up to the highest note.

e.g if there was a 4 note chord on channel 1 of the midi input, for example CEGB
the notes get outputted to channels 1-4 of the midi output in the following way
Channel 1 = C
Channel 2 = E
Channel 3 = G
Channel 4 = B

I’m a first time user of MTP. I’ve spent a number of hours studying @FlorianBome 's preset for Channel Rotation (here). Learning how this sort of thing works. And then had a go at writing my own rules based on what I’ve learnt.

At the moment its not working properly and could do with a bit of help. Currently all Note On messages output messages are being sent with midi note value 0. e.g income midi note 60 is being outputted at 0. Which is obviously not desired. I think its something to do with how I’m dealing with variable notes.

Would any experienced user be able to have a look at my code and push me in the right direction please? Or even finish it off! :wink: Or if such a preset already exists online please do let me know where I can get a copy of it.

Help much appreciated. Thank you!
Nick

chordsplitter v1.bmtp (3.7 KB)

See edit: managed to solve it now! A few silly mistakes. Needs testing properly, but think I’ve got it working now.

1 Like