Midi to Mouse for Plugin Fader

Hi there… I’m brand new to BOME and I’m trying to figure the best way to approach something. I have a midi fader that I’d like to map to fader on a plugin, but the plugin doesn’t allow midi mapping. I can use other tools I have to get the mouse cursor to hover over the on screen fader and then click to ‘grab the fader’ but I can’t figure out how to then translate the midi message from my hardware midi fader to control the cursor accurately.

I tried the adapting the midi scroll wheel with timer preset you made, but that doesn’t seem right–the fader is only jumping to the max values on either end – and I can’t quite figure out how to adjust the rules on the mouse to drag knob 2020 preset you made to work for me either.

Thanks for any advice

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

What plugin are you using? What MIDI message does you fader send? Could you show me the log window. Most plugins support MIDI so I’m hoping how we can figure out to use MIDI to move the fader if possible.

Can you use the physical scroll wheel of your mouse to move he fader or do you have to drag the entire fader itself.? I’m hoping that you can use the scroll wheel as dragging the entire fader will be a bit tricky since it may be in a different screen location each time depending on where the onscreen fader is.

In either case, converting MIDI to mouse is a bit tricky since you need to know the screen location to start the drag operation and since Bome MIDI Translator Pro is not aware of the current mouse position, it may be a bit more difficult.

Could you either post or point me to the project file that you are trying? It is possible that the project file uses relative values where faders typically use absolute values.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Hi Steve,