New and confused

I am very new to midi mapping and I trying to get some guidance. I am trying to use an akai apc40 mkii with Rekordbox lighting. I have been able to map some buttons, but I am wanting to know if I can use a page button to let me use the faders for multiple devices? Regular position controls certain lights, then if I hit page > then it would control different devices? I also can’t figure out how to make the pads a certain color and flash when in use.

Sorry,

Zach

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

This tutorial should show you how you can direct MIDI from your controller to multiple applications.

For LED feedback on the APC40-MKII you could download their programmers manual on the Akaipro web site.

In a nutshell, LEDs can be given different colors by sending note-on message to a given LED. The velocity of the Note-On message controls the LED color. See this tutorial.

This tutorial is an example of controlling LED blinking on a Novation Launchpad which would be similar (but different note numbers and velocities) to an APC-40 MKII.

This Tutorial shows a technique where you can direct various MIDI messages from and to different MIDI ports.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz
1 Like

Thanks Steve! This is super helpful. Do you know how I would change the midi message on a fader, based on whether or not a page or bank button is pressed? Would I use a rule to do that?

Hi,

See the attached project file.

Set the incoming aliases “My Controller” to your physical controller and the alias “Application” to the target port (application or device). Here is how I have mine set.

If your fader sends a different CC or MIDI channel, change the incoming message on translator 0.2 (Preset 0 translator 2). The translator checks the value of global variable “ga” and changes the output CC number if it is 1.