Powerpoint slide change - Program Change to outgoing keystrokes

Newbie here, needing some help. I would like to use midi program changes from from DAW to output keystrokes. I would like to i.e. have midi program change “65” for example to output keystrokes “65”. Can different inputs output different outputs? I would like to have a program change select different slides in Powerpoint.

Thanks

Yes, you can take any incoming MIDI message and output any keystrokes you want. In most cases, the target application (ie Powerpoint) will have to be the application currenty in focus for it to work. Some applications, however can accept “injected keystrokes” on the Windows platform, however.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Thank you for the very quick reply. My specific problem is, I would like to input a patch change number (0 - 127) and output that same number as keystroke text. That way I can have midi files change powerpoint slides by slide number. The input number would change according to the file being used. How do I make the output change to match the input without creating 128 translators? I’m sure it could be set up in the rules somehow, but I’m not sure how.

Thanks again

Hi,
Please find the attached. I originally did this to translate CC to outgoing digits but modified it for PC instead. Right now it only sends the value of the CC (0-127) followed by RETURN but if you want it to send in addition another character at the beginning you can modify translator 4.0 with this message.
The way it works is it disects the value of the PC and then looks up the value to send the required keystroke for the 100s 10s and 1s digits.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

PC-to-Keystrokes.bmtp (9.6 KB)

Thank you so much. I really didn’t want to enter 127 translator lines.

Thanks

Nope, just the incoming Program Change and the outgoing digits (with the right timing)

Hi,