Problems Configuring My Behringer X Touch Mini to Create key strokes on my Windows 11 Desktop ( Bome Midi Translator Pro)

Hello everyone, I’m new to this forum and a complete newbie to MIDI. I’m currently having trouble configuring my Behringer X Touch Mini MIDI controller to create keystrokes on my Windows 11 desktop using Bome MIDI Translator Pro.

Specifically, I am experiencing two issues:

1. Even though I am able to get MIDI input working, I am not getting any keystroke response when pressing buttons on my controller.
  2. MIDI output is not working, so my computer is not receiving any MIDI messages from my controller.

As a newcomer to MIDI and Bome MIDI Translator Pro, I’m not sure what steps I should take to troubleshoot this issue. I have tried selecting ‘Keystroke’ as the output action in the ‘Outgoing’ section of my translator, and have checked that the correct keystroke is entered in the ‘Outgoing Action’ field. However, I am still unable to get my Behringer X Touch Mini to create keystrokes on my desktop.

I would really appreciate any guidance or tips that anyone on this forum can offer me. Thanks in advance for your help!

I have included a picture of the screen I am working on + the Project

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

First of all, it is important to understand that the keystroke you send will be sent to the currently application in focus and that by default, outgoing keystrokes while you are focused on MT Pro (Bome MIDI Translator Pro) are suppressed.

On Windows, you can try using ‘injected’ keystrokes if the target application supports it (not all applications do). Or you could create a translator with outgoing action to focus the application and then delay the output of the keystroke translator (to give time for the application to gain focus.

Other pointers for troubleshoot.

Open the Log Window and check Incoming, MIDI IN, and Outgoing.