Pulling LED out information into BMT from Rekordbox

Hi, I am not sure if this is possible or not, I am a beginner.

I wish to pull the MIDI out data which Rekordbox is sending for controlling LEDs to BMT and then reinterpret that into my Launch Control XL. I would like to pull the data so that button state in the software is synced with the MIDI controller regardless of if I am pressing anything or not on the MIDI controller (direct sync behavior). Additionally I would like to change the color of the LEDs by adjusting the MIDI out value from 0-127.

Can this be done and how?

Thanks!

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

We would need to see what data is coming out of Rekordbox. Set it’s MIDI output to BMT 1 and then in MT Pro set the input to Bome MIDI Translator 1 Virtual IN.

Then open the log window and check MIDI IN. You should be able to see what Rekordbox is sending in the log window. Then annotate a message as to what you were doing and then let me know what LED to light up and at what color. Then I can send an example that you can copy for other Rekordbox output activities. This assumes, of course, the Rekordbox is sending MIDI data.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

I managed to connect Rekordbox to BMT, it does output LED data to the controller now regardless of if the buttons are pressed or not. The log says:

103: MIDI IN [Bome MIDI Translator 1 Virtual In]: B1 29 00
104: MIDI IN [Bome MIDI Translator 1 Virtual In]: B1 29 7F

This is for the Play/Pause button, Rekordbox is sending flashes when a song is paused, these two states repeat during a consistent interval. The current color is set to full bright yellow, which as far as I know, equivalent to MIDI OUT 127, on the other hand 79 is responsible for red, maybe we can make it red for now?