Scrolling scenes in Ableton with an endless knob encoder

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Bome Midi Translator and I’m a bit lost, mostly on the scripting language side…
So I’m trying to use an endless rotary knob encoder with hard stops to be able to scroll on my Ableton Live Scenes.
The first problem was that the encoder was recognised in Live as a Pitchbend controller. I was able to solve this with the following translator. (Incoming: Raw Midi CO pp. Outgoing: Control Change CC#10 pp)
Now I’m able to scroll the scenes in Live but considering that I have around 300 scenes (more than 127), every hard stop on my knob jumps by 3 or 4 scenes.
What kind of rule can help me scroll to every scene with a +/- 1 jump ?

I’d really appreciate your help !
Thanks
Indrit

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

Well if your encoders are sending pitch bend, they are not endless encoders. Anything that has hard stops are not endless encoders.

Also incoming MIDI C0 pp is not pitch bend, it is a program change.

If you can tell me what controller make and model you have, maybe we can find another control the truly does send endless encoder data, otherwise we may need to think of other ways of scrolling scenes like emulating keystrokes, or mouse scroll wheel.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Thanks Steve for your super quick reply !

This is the controller that I’m using : Devine EZ-Creator Fade

I’m using the big grey knob.

When I tried to midi map that knob directly in Live it was recognised as pitch bend and I couldn’t scroll the scenes. That’s why I installed the Bome Translator in the first place. And when I capture the midi message in Bome it reads MIDI C0. So I don’t know why Live interprets a program change as pitch bend.