VST Live and AKAI APC MINI mk2

Hi there,

I have bought Bome’s Midi Translator, but I’m not a programmer, so I’m finding this all quite confusing.

I have 32 songs in VST live, and I can trigger each song using the top four rows on the APC.

I’d really like to light the first four rows with white - to show that they have tracks associated with them.

Then, for the track that is selected (armed/playing or stopped) to light Green.

Could someone help me with this, please?

Cheers,
Charlie

I managed to play with an existing translator and got this far…
Not quite what I want, but it is a start, can anyone help me get the rest of the programming right, please?

Charlie Experiment.bmtp (4.1 KB)

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

Well since it you want your buttons to be exclusive (only one clipped launched. I changed the logic a bit.
I’m using a bitmap for the button states where ga = the bottom two rows (notes 0-31) and gb = the top 2 rows (notes 32-63)

Translator 2.0 sets the state of either ga or gb with only one button pressed and then calls the refresh timer (translator 0.5)

Translator 0.5 traverses the bitmap and determines and refreshes the state of the LED’s. I set the colors in rules where the top two rows are white for off and green for on. The bottom two rows are red for on an blue for off.

What I have not yet done is set it so that if you press a button that is already on, to toggle it off so at least one LED is always selected in each section once you push it.

I can help with this if you want but I’m not clear on the behavior you want but this should give you a good idea on how you can control 64 LED states with only 2 global variables.

Charlie Experiment-sjc.bmtp (4.7 KB)

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

In this version if you push a button that is already on it will turn the LED off. As far as what MIDI goes to your application, nothing has changed.