APC Mini MK2

Hi there!

I’m new to this and I found some topics on the APC MK2. However I couldn’t find the answer to my questions. I’ve demoed the midi translator as well, and tried some setups I found of this forum, but before I purchase it I would like to know if the following is possible:

I use the APC Mini MK2, control surface set as ‘none’ in ableton, in order to do my own midi mappings. What I want out of the bome software is just for the buttons to glow white when idle, and then have a different colour when I press them (and then turn white when I press them back).

Kind regards
Waldemar

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

There are two approaches is you are not using MIDI remote scripts.

1. Use whatever MIDI Ableton Live sends back, if any, when pressing a button to update the LED state.
  2. Using Bome MIDI translator Pro to update the LED state based on its own logic.

For option 1, obviously we would need Ableton Live to send MIDI feedback. We would then write translators to interpret that feedback for the desired state of the LED.
The advantages advantages is that LED’s would always be in sync with Ableton Live. However we really are at the mercy of how Ableton Live responds the MIDI messages.

Option 2 allows for full control but may not always be in sync with actual Ableton Live state.

You may find this tutorial on LED feedback useful which uses Option 2.

If you want absolute control of the LED toggle state, you would need to use Option 2 and global variables to maintain the current controller state to allow for toggle.
You could use the global variable to also vary the MIDI message sent to Ableton Live depending on the current toggle state.

This post describes how LED updates are handled on the APC-MINI MK2.

If you can provide more detail on.

1. What messages need to be sent to Ableton Live for each toggle state?
  2. What messages are coming back from Ableton Live?