Bome Network for Raspberry PI

Any chance we could get a disto of Bome Network PRO that could run on a Raspberry PI?
I am a solo musician and refuse drag around a laptop as part of my rig. I control backing tracks and lighting via a Raspberry PI mounted in my rig. It would be so nice if I could trigger my tracks and lighting via a virtual midi port running on the Raspberry PI over a WiFi network with a Bome box on my pedal board.

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

Unfortunately, we do not have a Linux distribution of Bome Network. However you could purchase a BomeBox that could be used for fundamental MIDI routing and if you also purchase Bome MIDI Translator Pro, you could develop a more complex project (with dynamic routing and translation) on a Windows or Mac PC and then load and run it on BomeBox with or without a computer. You can also network BomeBoxes together if you would like.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

PS: the BomeBox also acts as WiFi router or connects to an existing WiFi router.

Hi, we have just released Bome Network 1.5.0, with versions for Linux and Raspberry Pi:
https://www.bome.com/products/bomenet#downloads
If you give it a try, please report back how it works for you. It requires a reasonably current Raspberry Pi OS. Thanks!

1 Like

I have been unable to install the package on my Raspberry PI 4. Sorry for my ignorance, but how to install? There is only one file in the download zip package called ‘Bome Network’. The filename has no extension. What type of file is this? If I try to install the file using ‘sudo apt install -f’ command, I get an ‘Unsupproted file’ error. The OS my Raspberry PI is running on is Raspbian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye). Running in ‘armv7l’ 32bit mode.

Hi @reboard , thanks for trying!