Finding a way to cycle through my articulations

Hello! To be brief, I want to map 2 buttons on my midi keyboard to go up and down my articulation for the bottom C notes. I’m struggling with how to program it exactly.

Im still new to this software and programming in general, but here is my thought process.

If my range of notes is from C -2 to G1, (which is I believe 16 notes or so) and if I make the variable the keyswitch and make one switch add 1 and the other minus 1, how do I get them to cycle back around without going above the key switch range or below C -2?

Hopefully this makes sense, thank you!

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

I’m not sure what you mean. What are the two buttons? Do you know what MIDI the buttons send? Are you looking for them to change the transpose amount for your keyboard or do you want one button to sound the next higher note (killing the current note) and the other button to sound the next lower note (again killing the current note).

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

I think with “articulations” he means classic playing styles, like pizzicato, sforzando, staccato and so on. You press a certain low key on the keyboard and the synth switches to a certain type of playing. A problem arises if the keyboard is not large enough, the pre-defined key switches out of reach. Then an additional controller or buttons on the keyboard are the ideas for a workaround.

If my interpretation is correct, he wants two buttons sending MIDI notes C-2 to G1 stepwise, probably note-on only, one upwards and the other downwards, and rotating if the range border is reached.

(I personally would rather use an Akai APC mini or such for direct access and better overview. Or keystrokes via Bome MIDI Translator if a computer is attached.)