General Workflow Question - Making Sense of How Projects, Presets, and Translators Fit Together

Hi all- I’m relatively new to the world of Bome MIDI Translator Pro, so please forgive the very basic questions here.

1. What is/are the best practice(s) so that any translator can be triggered at any time? I’m wondering if it’s better to have them all in one preset, or each translator in its own preset. Does it matter?

2. If someone who was very kind shared a .bmtp file with you, (how) could you bring those presets into your own project?

I appreciate any help! Thank you!

~Jeff

Hi and welcome to the Bome community.

I usually organize my presets by the MIDI routing they use as you can have presets input and output devices override the project level presets.

See this tutorial.

Also if you would like to disable a set of translators, you can do this at the preset level that allows you to turn on-and-off certain functionality.

See this tutorial on layers.

There is no hard and fast rule, Many just organize them by functions they server.

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Hi Steve,

Thank you for the reply. The layers tutorial made a lot of sense. However, I still am wondering if the preset(s) within the project that Florian sent me (entitled Sweep) can/should be brought into an existing preset I have (entitled Colors inside of project entitled Laser Control). I have attached both projects. I appreciate any feedback!

Thank you,
Jeff
2022-03-14 Sweep.bmtp (1.5 KB)
LASER CONTROLS.bmtp (4.8 KB)

Hi, it looks like Sweep is using device “From Caedence” for input and device “To LaserOS” for output.

LASER CONTROLS is using IAC Ports at the project level. So I would

1. Copy and paste the Sweep preset in Sweep to your LASER CONTROLS Project.
  2. Assign your MIDI Ports in your COLORS preset to something other than you have them assigned in the Sweep preset.