Midi Massage x-Touch

Good day everybody,

I’m new to the MIDI world.
I understand the basics.

Now to my problem.
I have a Behringer X-Touch (Full) and would like to use it to control the Daslight software.
I’ve already managed to use the faders including feedback with the BMT Pro.

Now, depending on the brightness of the lamp I am controlling, I would like to use the Behringer’s VU meter to display the brightness.

However, I’m currently failing to understand how the MIDI message is put together.

There is an example of the V-Pod LEDs in the instructions.
However, I don’t understand how I can get the 2 values ​​(06) from the 8 (0pxxvvvv) values ​​in the example

I thank you for any help

Hi and welcome to the Bome community!

The below example should help, it will take a CC number (I used CC0 on MIDI CH1) and convert to VPOT ring information

First of all I set up the aliases as follows:

You can learn more about aliases from this tutorial.

Then I set up the preset routing, I used a controller for input but in your case you will likely need to use BMT 1 coming from your applicatnoi.

For more information about device selection, see this tutorial.

I scaled the input CC value 0-127 to the desired VPOT ring output value 0-11.

See this tutorial on scaling.

I did some other bit manipulation to handle the VPOT ring type and VPOT number. Here are the rules that I used with comments included.

// set mode
// 0, 1 , 2 or 3
oo=0
// scale value
// output range 0-11 or 12
qq=qq*12
// input ranges 0-127 or 128
qq=qq/128

Log "Log value on output is %qq%"
// shift mode bits into position
oo=oo<<4
// OR it with value to get resulting output value
qq=qq|oo
// which vpot number 0-7
rr=0
// add vpot number to message
tt=rr|48

And here is the project file:

CC-to-VPOT.bmtp (1.4 KB)

Have fun!

Steve Caldwell
Bome Customer Care

Also available for paid consulting services: bome@sniz.biz

Thanks a lot
For the answer.

However, it doesn’t answer my original question.