RME Totalmix

Hi All,

I am trying, as many before me, to control RME's Totalmix (digital mixer/DSP) with a MIDI controller (in my case the Behringer X-Touch Compact). I've been scouring the RME forums, manuals, and other sources to find out how to customize things and get all the functionality I need, but am still searching. I'll note, that I am also new to MIDI control. From what I can tell, there is no way to do it natively, which is why I've found my way here to Bome forums.

My goal is to customize some MIDI knobs/buttons to send MIDI CC notes to Totalmix to activate things like Snapshot #1-8, Mute Groups, etc, while also retaining all the basic mixing functionality that I'm only able to get right now when my X-Touch is in MC (Mackie Control) mode.

Has anyone successfully implemented such a setup? If so I'd love to hear some specifics.

Hi,

I haven't done this with RME TotalMix specifically but I created a template that will allow you to switch between Mackie Mode and Layer Mode with double tap of the record button of the X-Touch compact.  This allows for 2 virtual controllers. A Mackie Mode controller and a CC mode controller.  I send all Mackie commands out BMT  1 and CC commands out BMT 2.  The ports are selected via aliases "Mackie Application" and "Non-Mackie Application". 

While in the other mode, I continue to monitor input from the DAW so that things get updated when coming back.  For instance If I move a fader in non-Mackie Mode but the DAW sends data to a Mackie Fader, MT Pro holds that data and will forward it to the X-touch compact once it goes back into Mackie Mode.

I spent many personal hours on this so this would be a MT project file I would sell for your use only and not free.  Reach out to me via email if interested.

The techniques I use, however are available in various posts in this forum. Just the packaged solution would be for sale. If you want a specific function, I can provide an example of just that function.

Steve Caldwell